Then, There Was a Sale

I, ahem, had a bit of a setback this weekend.  After not shopping for the sake of shopping for what seemed like a year (more like a few months), I received a phone call from a relative that the Amazon/Target returns re-sale store he managed was closing…in two days.  So.many.bargains.to.be.had.

I bought seven kites among other un-necessities.

Apparently, I have a problem. I mentioned a little while back that we were fixing up a tiny lake house.  In my mind, it is sparsely decorated.  It has to be because it’s only 900 sq ft.  However, my husband’s family is composed of 19 people with his parents, siblings, and their/our children alone.  That’s a lot to entertain.  So, of course, I bought three chairs at the sale. *Face palm*

I left with several bags of sharply marked down merchandise, and I realized that I really wasn’t as excited about it as I would usually have been in the past.  It was almost a gross feeling.  Now I have to store this stuff until the remodel is done.  Why didn’t I wait until the house was done to furnish it and decorate?  Surely I have enough in my own home that would suffice and fill up another home?

Sigh. I wish I had thought this through more.

I can’t beat myself up about it, though.  When I got home, I tore into one of the kites immediately and started flying it.  My daughter took over, and played with it outside for hours.  There will be enough for all of my nephews and niece to fly when they come to the lake.  Sometimes things are worth buying for the memories they create.  I refuse to feel guilty about it.  This was a learning experience.  Tomorrow is a new day.

Do you have any shopping moment-of-weakness stories to share?

4 thoughts on “Then, There Was a Sale

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself… we all have our moments. Learn what your “trigger” is and how to curtail it going forward. We all give into our weaknesses, occasionally – don’t beat yourself up over it.

    And enjoy the kites! πŸ˜‰ You KNOW the kids will have a blast with them all summer!

    1. We will! I really hope my childhood love of it rubs off on them. Kind of sad that I haven’t had time before just to spend an afternoon flying. I’m over the shopping snafu. Just kind of weird how my feelings have changed…for the better!

Leave a Reply

