Drowning in a Mountain of Stuff

Last night, as I checked my calendar, I realized we had the bug spray company coming over at 2pm today.  As my 12 yo daughter settled into bed, I told her the *bad* news.  A look of shock overwhelmed her face as she looked around, “Does all of the stuff have to be away from the walls?”  I sighed, “Yes” and softly closed the door.  I heard a flurry of activity as she jumped up from the bed and got to work.  This was the result I saw this morning.

Oh Mylanta.

She obviously has a lot of work to do when she gets home from school today.  We are settling into the preteens quite nicely.  Every day she gets home from school, it’s either

  1. I have a ton of homework.
  2. I have a headache.
  3. I’m tired.
  4. My stomach/toe/elbow/cuticles hurt.

I think she may be trying to get out of doing the dishes.  I told her it’s her responsibility to do the dishes several months ago, and she’s probably done them five times since my ultimatum.  Or maybe she’s trying to get out of cleaning her room?

I’ll admit that I don’t understand her way of thinking.  She won’t hardly throw anything away, and she wants to use any extra spending money she gets to buy more stuffed animals no matter how much I protest.  A few nights ago she asked if I could buy her a new nightstand for her bedroom.  We looked at some online, and they are fairly pricey.  I’m going to use it as a reward for purging her room and keeping it nice.  I don’t think I can handle it anymore.

There’s that and a hideous smell in my bathroom that I’m contending with.  It smells an awful lot like a dead mouse, and I think it died underneath our vanity – a totally inaccessible place.  Stupid mouse.  We would have given you a proper burial if we could reach your tiny little carcass.  So, in the meantime, I’ve resorted to this.

It works in theory.  In reality, notsomuch.

Well, I’ve got some work to do before the bug guys come.  I hope you have a much better Wednesday that mine is turning out to be.  At least you are not a dead mouse underneath my bathroom vanity stinking up the place.  That’s perspective.

 

6 thoughts on “Drowning in a Mountain of Stuff

    1. Welllll, a couple of them drowned in the dog water bucket in the garage. One was a mouse, the other was a rather large rat. But you’re right, it’s been a week. Too long for a mouse.

      1. Ewwwww!

        LOL!

        Good luck with figuring out what the stinky culprit is…
        (At worst, you can usually remove a bathroom cabinet with only a few screws to back out…maybe.)

  1. Eek. I have an irrational thing against mice, they make me feel ill.
    When the benefits of decluttering really came home to me was when a plumber came to fix our bathroom sink. As he walked into the bathroom, I realised he’d need the cupboard under the sink cleared. So I grabbed a laundry basket and quickly cleared the cupboard. When he left I quickly put it back. It was a totally non-event! That cupboard used to be overflowing and it would have been an embarrassing nightmare. Making other activities non-events has been a big motivator of more decluttering.

  2. That is an awesome testimony, Amy! I’ve had similar victories. One of the best things is when your house is free of chaos when an unexpected visitor rings the doorbell.

Leave a Reply

