Reaching for the Stars

If you haven’t figured it out by now, my 6 yo son is quite the character.  He loves Legos and stickers…in that order.  I usually find stickers all over his room, but this morning I really took notice.  We have ten foot tall ceilings, and the top of his window sits at eight feet.  There was a small star-shaped sticker stuck to the wall near the top of the window.  His bed is elevated and the mattress is about chest high to me.  Looking at the sticker on the wall, he still must have had to stretch quite a bit or get a helping hand from a large stuffed animal.

The effort he took to get the star up that high got me thinking.  How often do aim for the stars just out of our reach?  Do we set goals that are only attainable because we fear failure?  How much stretching is really involved in attaining our dreams?

How lofty are your goals?

When I was younger, I had goals.  I wanted to use my skills in science and math to be an engineer.  I excelled in school, and then I met face to face with the real world.  I went through two layoffs in my five years out of school.  I had a few good mentors, and I met several people who seemed like it was their life’s mission to make me fail.  The corporate world is not as fun as it seems.  It can suck the joy out of you faster than a 3 year-old with a glass of chocolate milk.

Now that I’m a small business owner, things at a lot better.  However, it’s easy to get complacent.  However, complacency is the thief of joy and creativity.  So is our stuff.  I used to love watching the show “Hoarders.”  People on the show would eat microwaved meals in their recliners oblivious to the mountains of stuff looming over them.  They were complacent because it was so overwhelming.  It was easy for them to ignore because it had become their new normal.  The worst thing about it was that I saw how the hoard paralyzed them.

Physical hoarders aren’t the only ones that hoard.  Some of us hoard thoughts and ill feelings in our own minds that keep us from setting goals and reaching for the stars.  I am here to tell you that you are good enough.  You are loved.  You are capable.  Even I need to hear this.  You should start setting your sights beyond your reach, TODAY.  Otherwise, another ten years will fly by, and you will wonder what you could have done with that time if you weren’t so complacent.

I have several things that I need to set higher goals for.

  1. I love being a counselor at our summer church camp.  I need to stop winging it every year and prepare for it longer term.
  2. I want to be a CASA volunteer, and give a voice to children in the foster care system.
  3. I want to be more relaxed and focused when I’m working instead of feeling like I am over-multitasking.
  4. I want to create a calm space in my home and teach my children good habits that help them respect and honor their space.

Do you have any goals that you need to set higher?  Share them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

