Housework is the Pits

I have a confession to make. I really, really, really don’t like doing housework.  What, you too?!?!?!  No way!  It’s a necessary evil, right?  You can’t passive aggressively ignore it, or you’re one police siren away from making the 6 o’clock news or at least the television show “Hoarders.”

Ok, so there are some people who like housework.  I’ve read about people in minimalist homes taking a whole 30 minutes a week to clean their home.  Granted, the article I remember reading was about very small, very sparse apartment with a single person living there.  It’s not the same with three or more people living in the same space, especially when at least one of those people is a miniature human that leaves a trail of dust sparkles and broken dreams things in their wake. 

Several years ago, I ran across Flylady.net.  At the time, I was living in a 5th wheel camper, so it really did take me 30 minutes or less to clean.  However, I never quite forgot about it.  I signed up for the Flylady emails again, but I still haven’t quite got in the mood to start it.  It’s quite easy.  Sometimes I don’t know what’s wrong with me.  (OK, I do.  It’s perfectionism.)

I am never, ever, ever cleaning this portrait of our family that my son drew tonight. 

Here are the basic daily habits that you acquire using the Flylady method:

  1. Shine your sink.
  2. Morning Routine:
    • Get Dressed to Shoes including Hair/Face, Brush Teeth
    • Make Bed
    • Swish & Swipe
    • Empty Dishwasher
    • Reboot Laundry (a Load a Day Keeps CHAOS Away)
    • Check Your Calendar
    • Check Your Control Journal
  3. What’s For Dinner?
  4. Drink Your Water
  5. Declutter for 15 Minutes
  6. 15 Minutes of Loving Movement (exercise)
  7. Before Bed Routine:
    • Lay out Your Clothes for tomorrow
    • Check Your Calendar
    • Put things needed for tomorrow at the Launch Pad
    • Where are your Keys?
    • Spend Two Minutes Clearing off a Hot Spot
    • Shine Your Sink
    • Wash face/Brush Teeth
    • Go to Bed at a Decent Hour

Flylady keeps it almost too simple, but sometimes we get overwhelmed with everything else and can’t figure out where to start.  Starting Monday, I’m going to jump on the Flylady bandwagon again, and start simple routines to make my house shine.  As an added bonus, the 15 minute decluttering will help with my goals to help reduce the volume of stuff in my home.  I’m terrible about keeping habits, but I’m confident I can do it.

Anyone interested in joining me?

2 thoughts on “Housework is the Pits

Leave a Reply

