Consume Less, Savor More

I’ve never been one for New Year’s resolutions.  If you’re not able to do it already, why does Jan 1 rolling around all of a sudden give you the extra willpower you’ve lacked the other 364 days of the year?  I heard once that it takes 21 days to establish a habit.  It seems like New Year’s resolutions hardly last that long, so maybe there’s something to that statement.

A few years ago, I came across the “Consume less, savor more” quote.  It showed up in my Facebook memories a few days ago, and it’s stayed with me since.  It’s something that I’ve been working toward for the past few months, but it gets overwhelming at times.  It took me almost 40 years to accumulate my household possessions.  They aren’t going to leave overnight, barring major unfortunate circumstances.

I’ve always been a dreamer.  I think that is what leads a lot of people to fill their homes with lots of unused craft projects, sports equipment, vacationing supplies, and even clothing.  We have an idea of who we want to be, but we lack the time, money, or resources to make it happen.  I’m also one of those people whose surroundings intensely affects her mood.  If my house is a wreck, I’m usually a wreck.  I shut down and withdraw because it’s overwhelming.  The only way to minimize the wreck is to downsize.  Organization won’t do it.  Stuff has got to go.

I have several household projects awaiting me.  I started a hallway portrait wall several months ago, and I decided that yesterday was the day it was going to get done.  I had only nailed the shelves to the wall because I wanted my husband to help me put some sturdy wall anchors in.  Over time, the nails started pulling away from the wall.  I decided I could do it myself and soon realized I was in over my head.  Thankfully he saw the mess in the hall when he got home, and we got to work finishing it.  It turned out quite nicely, I must say.

(Don’t look too closely. Some of the people in those frames are not related to me.)

So Happy New Year to all of you!  I hope that 2017 brings you much joy, less consuming, more savoring, less empty resolutions, and more action.

 

5 thoughts on “Consume Less, Savor More

  1. I’m crap with New Year resolutions too! I love “consume less, saviour more”. My guiding phrase for the year is “slow not lazy” .
    I know what you mean about being weighed down by aspirational stuff. In my decluttering, I’ve had to deal with a lot of stuff I’d acquired or held on to with the good intentions of some craft project or the other. I had to face the fact that, as much as “fantasy me” would love to have made that stuff, I hadn’t and it was time to go. I gave myself a time limit and if I hadn’t completed the project, it was time to go. I had a skirt sitting there half finished since before my son’s birth 4 years ago, vintage handles for purses I wanted to make (but hadn’t in the last 10 years!). All sorts.

    1. Thanks for the comment, Amy. Your stories made me think of the time when I planned to knit my twin nephew baby blankets…14 years ago! Never finished that. I also found some dress material I was going to use when my daughter was 3 months old. Now she’s twelve. Wow, time flies. I love your “slow not lazy” mantra. It’s a good one!

Leave a Reply

