Affirmations of a Mid-Life Crisis

In the past six months, I’ve been going through a very mild mid-life crisis.  My husband will turn 40 soon, and I’m not too far behind.  I think everyone goes through a stage where they look back and say, “What did I really accomplish in my 20’s, 30’s, etc?”  Did I travel enough?  No.  Did I meet tons of people?  No.  Did I amass a small fortune?  No.  Did I write the book series I’ve been sloshing around in my head for the past few years?  No.  Did I do something to change the world?  Yes, actually.  That’s another post.

Here’s what I’ve accomplished in twenty years:

  • Married a wonderful man 15 years ago
  • Raised two healthy, beautiful babies
  • Worked seven different jobs (three of which were small businesses) and made it through two layoffs
  • Earned bachelors and masters degrees (the latter with kids, mind you)
  • Bought one home and sold it to build the one we live in today
  • Purchased two rental properties

It seems like a lot, but it also doesn’t seem like much.  We don’t get a lot of time on this Earth, and it’s easy to fritter it away.  Do these accomplishments truly define who I am, though?  Yes and no, but they don’t necessarily define who I am or what my purpose is.  Maybe that’s what mid-life crises are about.  People buy expensive things and endure surgeries to try to hang on to the last threads of our youth, and it never works.  Youth is already gone by the time we realize we took it for granted.

So instead of buying a Porsche or getting a tummy tuck, I’ve decided to do an exercise in affirmations to try to define who I am on this big blue gaseous ball.

  1. I am loved because I hear it every day.
  2. I am humorous.  My 8th grade nephew asked me a few weeks ago why I wasn’t a comedian, as in a career comedian.  Serious.
  3. I am fiercely loyal and loving.  Don’t poke the bear.
  4. I am not my failures, my faults, and my neglect.  I am human, not Super Woman.
  5. I am a great mom.  If you are a mother, don’t let anyone tell you any differently (unless you make the 6 o’clock news, then we’ll have to talk).
  6. I am a great wife.  It’s something you have to work at each and every day.
  7. I am for rescue animals (or animals in general).  Just ask my four dogs, two ducks, four Guinea fowl, and four chickens.
  8. I am for the environment.  We only get one, and we are screwing it up royally.
  9. I am for women and women’s rights.  Sure, it’s not like it once was, but it’s still not good enough.
  10. I am the daughter of a King, most importantly, first and foremost.  See #1.

This is who I am.  This is who lives inside of me, and she’s great.  She’s not perfect, but she’s not too bad.  So, hit me with everything you’ve got, 40.  I can take it.

Leave a Reply

