Time for a Change

I subscribe the Yahoo Buzz Log, and Claudine Zap wrote in today’s article, “Who knew that a time would come when being called a ‘cheapskate’ would be a compliment.”

I am the daughter of the biggest cheapskate I know, but even she has some spending habits that I don’t approve of. Our family went down to one income about a year-and-a-half ago, and it’s been an interesting transition. I don’t spend a lot of money on unnecessary things, but I’ve started to wonder where our money really goes. I’ve tried budgets before, but I can’t seem to stay on track.

I started this blog because there are ways to make yourself recession proof. I’ve been through two layoffs myself, one in 2002 and another in 2007. I’d like to share with you some tips and tricks I learned during that part of my life as well as the new ones I’m learning in these precarious times. What happens to the economy is out of our control, but there are ways to prepare ourselves. I’ll use my real-world examples, and hopefully help a few new friends along the way.

Leave a Reply

